Wisdom of the Ages 237

“I know that there’s more to life than going to work, taking care of my children, husband and household chores. I’ve discovered “quilting”. I was drawn into quilting because my in-laws are going to celebrate a very important milestone next year, their 50th wedding anniversary. I thought it would be great to make them a memory quilt using old photographs of their wedding and transferring them to fabric. I enrolled in classes and have been working on a sampler quilt for the past year. I haven’t finished my sampler quilt yet because I discovered the “rag quilt” which is currently a work-in-progress project. Many of the ladies in my quilt class have given me many new and exciting ideas on new projects. One of which is embroidery. I love the 3 dimensional look it gives a quilt. I am very eager and excited to get started on this new passion. Quilting has breathed new life into me and has evolved into passion. I can’t stop thinking about my next block or project and when I think about all those wonderful fabrics, I get goose bumps. Yes I work full time but I have managed to squeeze a little time for myself to sew my quilts, which in essence, is my new life. I’ve learned that in this life, one has to pursue their own happiness. Quilting, embroidering and sewing have given me happiness and another reason to get up in the morning.”

Female, age unknown, La Puente, California

