Wisdom of the Ages 204

“This time ten years ago I was working in a dead end office job. Whilst this was an improvement on my dead end factory and shop jobs, I still felt that I was progressing sideways instead of upwards. A careers adviser encouraged me to go to university as a mature student (I was 25). I thought university was something other people did but I filled in the forms and to my surprise I got a place. I am now 35 and I have a BA (Hons) degree, a post-graduate diploma and an MSc. It is also important to know when to stop. My fourth degree hit the skids due to health problems and it took me a year to admit defeat. I have now gone full circle and have gone back to my favourite school subject of embroidery and I am now planning to study for a C&G in embroidery. You can achieve anything you want if you put your mind to it. I now work as a Civil Servant, which is a vast improvement of sitting on a shop till (earning half my current salary) with a perma-smile.”
Female Age: 35 Location: London, England

