Wisdom of the Ages 176

“Only you can make you happy. I discovered this revelation during a very low patch of depression early in the 90s, when I was spinning out and didn’t know who I was or what I was doing. It occurred to me that only I could make that decision, and from that came the knowledge that only I could make me happy. I’ve carried that with me, and re-interpreted it in various ways – for example if someone is yelling at me or cursing me, only I can make me mad or angry or upset, not that other person by what they are saying. No-one else should have that power over my life, and I refuse to give it to them. So no matter how other people behave towards me, only I can change my moods. I have become a very strong, centred person as a result of that insight, and it is not easy to take on board, but once you do, it is the most powerful message you can give yourself. Anything becomes possible, because you are responsible completely for who you are and what you do. And I hope it can help someone else.”
33 Years Female Australia

