Wisdom of the Ages 164

“I am 57 and have never taken time to stitch anything except for in emergency. You see I was alway too busy with life to take time for beauty in life. My parents died within 4 months of each other in my 18th year and I found myself widowed with 4 babies at the ripe old age of 30.
Now I am not complaining, mind you. I am only sorry that I didn’t think of those who were less fortunate, with no food, no hot water. I was always so busy working that I never took the time to find the beauty all around us.
So it is from there I will tell you what I have learned in life.
NEVER STUMBLE OVER SOMETHING BEHIND YOU.
It is never too late to learn, which is what I plan on doing each day the Lord allows me to stay on this earth.
Today, I am learning to embroidery.Today, I am riding the horses I love that I never had time for.Today, I am growing my garden, I was too busy with.Today, I am reading the Bible instead of doing paperwork from my job in the evenings.Today, and every day I talk with my children (all over the country) and my grandchildren.Today, may be the only day we have.Everyday, I thank God, for the hot running water in my shower, the food on our table…..things so many in this world don’t have….the little things I never took time to think about before let alone be thankful for.
I would like to share the words of wisdom of a very wise woman:
Life is hard if you live it by the yard, but it’s a cinch if you live it by the inch.
Teach us to number our days, and recognize how few they are. Help us to spend them as we should.
A pastor once said he broke down everything to needs, wants, desires. I NEED a car for transportation, I WANT the BMW. I found those words made a glorious transformation in my life. I had the BMW…..I have none of those fancy things any more. I have a simple life. Jewelry, my wedding ring! Fancy clothes, to the mission! Why did I have those things, diamonds, fancy cars, fancy furniture…..not for me, but for what others thought I should have. Others? Friends and family, true friends care not what is on the outside, but what is on the inside.”
Female, aged 57 Nevada, USA

