Wisdom of the Ages 61

In 50 years of living, I learned that a smile will get you a lot further than a scowl, that kindnesses freely given have a way of being rewarded, not usually by the recipient but by an unexpected source. I have learned that money is not everything and that it is not a way to judge the quality of one’s life. I have learned that happiness is a state of mind that can be cultivated, and that the “victim” mentality is not a fun place to be. I have learned that if you want to have many friends, you must first give your time and attention to those who would call you “friend”. I have learned that it is important to like whatever you have chosen to do, at any given time. It is necessary to savor the little moments. They are fleeting, yet in totality, they make up the sum of our lives. My advice for a happy life would be to ask little but give much. There is joy in giving.
Female, 50, USA

